Crossing Hope Valley Quilt Top

Crossing Hope Valley

As I mentioned, the pattern is from Susan Beal’s Modern Log Cabin Quilting. I made a few modifications:
– Increased the size of the pieces to make it jelly roll friendly (2 1/2″ strips yield 12″ finished squares, versus 9 1/2″ in the book)
– Made a few extra all-white log cabin blocks to fill in the side areas for the 4 block rows, instead of using plain pieces of fabric

Crossing Hope Valley

I got the idea for this layout when I was cutting out the pieces from jelly roll scraps and stacking them by color. I had originally planned to randomize the colors, but the gradation in the pile of little rectangles made me think otherwise.

Honestly, I am a bit stumped on how to quilt this one. Usually I go for all over stippling, but this might call for some straight line quilting (which scares the bejeesus out of me). Until I sort it out, I’ll put this one on the backburner and start something else.

You’ll notice that my husband models a lot of my quilts. He’s a good sport, but usually takes liberties with a few funny faces when I’m not paying attention…

Funny Face

9 thoughts on “Crossing Hope Valley Quilt Top

  1. Aima says:

    I love your quilt.
    I used to stipple all my quilts but recently mad a zig-zag quilt and tried straight line quilting for the 1st time. It went v well. In your case, you can use one of the seam lines as a guide for your presser foot. Good luck.

  2. Angela says:

    love it! just finished my own take on the modern crosses and did some straight line quilting. Takes a good amount of time, but loved the final look. Especially combined with some stipple.

    I’ll post the finished quilt in the next day or so if you want to see how mine turned out.

  3. Susan says:

    Beautiful! So gorgeous, the larger scale block size is really cool, and I’m so happy you like the book. I put some Hope Valley in my Modern Crosses quilt too!

    • sticksonaplane says:

      Did Susan Beal just comment on my quilt?! In the words of the great Wayne and Garth, “I am not worthy!!” This totally made my day!

      Your book is amazing. My only problem is picking which quilt I’m going to make from it next… šŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

