Sewing on the Brain

I may be without fabric and sewing tools [*sob*] while I’m at this conference in San Antonio, but that doesn’t mean I don’t have sewing on the brain

First, I’ve signed up for Don’t Call Me Betsy‘s Kaleidoscope Quilt Along. I’ve never done a quilt along before, and this looks like a great place to start. The plan is to start my kaleidoscope quilt in late June, once I’ve [hopefully] finished my Garden Under the Sea quilt top. [Or tops? More about that in another post.] Anyway, still deciding what fabric to use for the kaleidoscope quilt, but I’m leaning towards some blue and green prints from the DS Quilts line at JoAnn Fabrics.

Then, while taking advantage of the free intenet access in my hotel room, I came across a great blouse tutorial on Sew Mama Sew, aptly named the Pretty Blouse, by Amanda from The Modern Marigold. I was so excited about the tutorial that I surfed right on over to Fabric.com and bought myself some beautiful Tula Pink voile fabric to make a new summer blouse. Red normally isn’t one of my go-to colors, but I’m trying to branch out a bit.

Way back when I began sewing, I started out with apparel, which I’ve abandoned as my undying love for quilting has developed. It will be fun to go back to my roots!

Leave a Reply

