Harry Potter Diaper Cake

In addition to the occasional craft show, I have a teeny side business making custom diaper cakes. I’ve done my share of puppies, frogs, and Winnie the Poohs, but a few weeks ago I was presented with my most interesting challenge to date — a Harry Potter themed cake for a baby girl. Of course there is no Harry Potter merch for wee ones, so I ended up making quite a few of the items on the cake.

Front and center, we have a baby-sized student hat (felt with embroidery), and a golden snitch rattle toy, also felt. I used a pattern to make a ball, then just freehanded the wings. Up top is the most Hedwig-looking plush I could find.
Harry Potter Cake

What you can’t see in the picture is the set of four decorated onesies. I originally had more ambitious plans for them, but I am still pleased with how they came out. They were each hand dyed (oh, the magic of Rit dye!) and then appliqued with house initials — H for Hufflepuff, S for Slytherin, etc. In a Gryffindor mood? There’s a onesie for that!
Harry Potter Dyed and Appliqued Onesies

I used my mom’s amazing Husqvarna Viking embroidery machine to add some cute sayings to these bibs. The font is ‘Harry P’ and can be downloaded for free all over the ‘net.
Harry Potter Embroidered Bibs

Add to that a few pairs of baby socks with dragons, two flannel blankets, and around 50 diapers, and you have a wizardly baby shower gift! Fingers crossed that the recipient enjoys the cake as much as I enjoyed creating it.
Wrapped Harry Potter Cake

10 thoughts on “Harry Potter Diaper Cake

  1. Cora Hunt says:

    I am throwing my niece a baby shower and she is a Harry Potter fanatic. Do you think you can make me a Harry Potter diaper cake for her shower? If so, how much do you charge?

    • sticksonaplane says:

      Hi Cora! Sorry I missed your comment. I do cakes on commissions from time to time, but the real question is shipping. I have yet to find a really secure way to ship them without damage, so I am mostly limited to customers in the Philadelphia area. If you’re still interested, feel free to e-mail me at amanda.colyer@gmail.com!

  2. SanaPotter says:

    Wow!! You’re amazing!! I am the BIGGEST Harry Potter fan and would looove those things for my kids!! 😀 You’re amazing! I’ll think of contacting you after I’m married! ;D Lol

  3. Lauren says:

    I am in love with this! And it just so happens that I have a friend who’s prego and who is a huge Potter fan as well! Are you still making this, and if so, may I order one

  4. Raelene Arthur says:

    I would LOVE to order some Harry Potter onsies from you, if there’s any chance that you still make them. I’m in Australia, which I know could be tricky for posting and payment things, but if it’s at all possible, I’d be stoked!

Leave a Reply

