Clip It

Working through the last few months of pregnancy gets a little more challenging as time goes on. I have a little less energy, a little less patience, and a little more stress every day. At least it feels that way sometimes!

While I’m on the road for work, I daydream about ambitious craft projects and what I’m going to work on when I get home. But oftentimes, all I’m up for when I finally get there is catching up on Modern Family and eating pumpkin whoopie pies (‘tis the season!).

I found myself in a little bit of a crafty funk recently – and the best medicine was a quick, gratifying sewing project. These pacifier clips did the trick in spades.

Pacifier Clips

These were so easy to make that I breezed through ten in almost no time. And now we’ll never, ever lose a pacifier, right?

If you’re interested in making some clips of your own, the tutorial can be found at Sew Mama Sew, and I bought adorable clip hardware Cool2BeChicSupplies on Etsy.

Pacifier Clips

I learned a few new things while working on this project. Number one, how to do a rolled hem on my serger, which I’ve never attempted before. Number two, how to irreparably break my 20 year old serger. *sigh* A metal piece in the internal mechanism snapped off, and now it won’t do a regular serge stitch. Oh, well… guess I have something to ask Santa for. Third, this was the first time I ever used Fray Check. Where has this stuff been all my life? It is perfect for taming the errant little threads that inevitably result from a serged/rolled edge.

All of the fabric was from my stash. From the top: forest friends, map of Manhattan, E-A-G-L-E-S EAGLES, US states & capitals, bias stripes, and additional forest friends.

Pacifier Clips

Rounded out with a blueprint fabric, gray with white flowers, a sushi print, and Christmas trees. Our little guy is due very early in January, but it never hurts to be prepared…

Pacifier Clips

2 thoughts on “Clip It

  1. City Girl says:

    hello Mrs. Colyer I love the baby the baby room and the BINKY holders are WONDERFUL! You should really sell those on the net. Mothers would love you for doing so.. By the way my name is C and I work with Ben who is A GREAT GUY! You are truly BLESSED! Congrats and good luck.

Leave a Reply

