Star Wars Bunting

Like many on the East Coast, I was lucky enough to have off of work today to weather out the storm at home. I set a goal for the day of making something for the baby’s room out of only supplies I had lying around the house… Starting with this big pile of felt scraps.

Pile 'O Felt

After a lot of trimming, here we are on our way to bunting for the nursery.

Star Wars Bunting

Trying out a layout, prior to gluing…

Star Wars Bunting

I had planned to do a good bit of embroidery on each piece, but I actually like it a little more simple.

From the top: storm trooper, Cantina band member, Yoda, Jedi symbol, Wicket the Ewok, rebel alliance symbol, tauntaun, lightsaber, C3PO, and R2D2 bringing up the rear.

Star Wars Bunting

The binding is actually left over from a quilt I made last April. This is why I don’t throw anything away!

Star Wars Bunting

There’s still a lot of work to do, but it’s really exciting to see a few things coming together in the room.

Star Wars Bunting

14 thoughts on “Star Wars Bunting

  1. Jill says:

    I love your bunting so much! Had to make one for my son’s star wars birthday party. I used many of your characters and then added more finding images online and it turned out great. Thanks for sharing such an inspiring project! My son is going to freak out. 🙂

  2. Seth says:

    Love the room décor! My son’s birthday is Star Wars this year, would you have patterns or graphics available for the bunting? Would love to use it!

    Thanks!

  3. jolowobe says:

    This is awesome!! My sister is pregnant, and we just found out it’s a boy. We are huge Star Wars fans, so I was researching some Star Wars room decor and found this. I think I’m going to try to make it. One question right off the bat – it looks like you glued the images onto the flags, instead of sewing them. Is that right? Have they held up pretty well? Thanks!

  4. Johanna says:

    I’ve started in on this, and, though hard work, it’s really fun (I’m not a regular crafter)! I have another question – I don’t own a sewing machine and also don’t know how to work with binding. Do you have other suggestions for how I might bind the flags? I can free-hand sew, but it seems like that could end up looking messy. Thanks again.

    • sticksonaplane says:

      Hi Johanna! I’ve thought about it a bit, and you could also probably hot glue the flags to some nice ribbon to finish it off — no sewing required. Hope that helps! I’d love to see a picture if you post the finished project!

  5. Johanna says:

    I finished! My sister and brother-in-law LOVE it. Thank you so much for the inspiration! I’d be happy to send you a picture, let me know how/where.

Leave a Reply

