A Quilt for Baby Clare

A Quilt for Clare

[Yes that’s a quilt on a quilt. Kind of like sewing Inception.]

A coworker and his wife welcomed a baby girl on Valentine’s Day, and I wanted to make them a little quilt as a gift. Unfortunately, I think I may have overestimated my post-baby free time… This quilt, which I would normally be able to crank out in a weekend, was completed in fits and starts over about eight weeks. So glad to finally put the last stitch in!

A Quilt for Clare

Materials: Front – charm pack of ‘Good Fortune’ by Kate Spain, white quilter’s cotton; Back – ‘Farmdale Blossom’ by Alexander Henry, selections from solids charm pack; Binding – grey quilter’s cotton

A Quilt for Clare

A Quilt for Clare

It’s always fun to personalize, especially when you get to use a Husqvarna Viking for the appliqué. Unfortunately, it was only borrowed. Sort of like renting a Ferrari for the weekend. That machine is a-ma-zing! Fortunately it’s my mom’s, so I have the opportunity to borrow it from time to time…

A Quilt for Clare

Since babies are pretty much the best photo prop, here are a few shots of E doing some rigorous quality testing. Thanks, boo.

A Quilt for Clare

A Quilt for Clare

Now I’m set to make a quilt for E… nap-willing, of course. I’m thinking about a more involved version of my train quilt, with a lot of fussy cutting and a circus theme. By my calculations (zero free time – two broken machines + need to buy a new one) it should be complete roughly in time for his high school graduation!

I’ve never been so happy to have no time to sew🙂

3 thoughts on “A Quilt for Baby Clare

  1. Rebecca says:

    Not to sound like a complete stalker – but I love your entire blog! Everything you do is so cute! The baby nursery kills me (as I’m a huge Star Wars nerd), and this quilt, I love both sides! Well done!

Leave a Reply

