This is not the quilt you’re looking for

What on earth… ?

R2D2 Folded

Ok, here’s a hint or two. (Bonus points if you know what the guy on the right is.) Still not sure?

R2D2 and Rancor

Beep boopboop beep.

R2D2 Baby Quilt

This is the first project for our little padawan’s Star Wars themed nursery!

Dimensions: 36” x 48”

Fabrics: Calicos and solids from JoAnn Fabrics

Pattern: I wish! Made up as I went along.

There’s a whole lot happening on the front, so I decided to keep the back very basic. Love this Denyse Schmidt dot print from JoAnn Fabrics.

R2D2 Baby Quilt

Originally  I wanted to embroider the back by hand, but after finishing the first word I wasn’t fully happy with it. Instead, I used my machine’s basic zigzag stitch. It’s a little wonky, but I think that adds to the charm.

R2D2 Baby Quilt Embroidery

I’m really happy with how this quilt finished up, and it’s given me a lot of confidence in our unconventional choice of theme.

R2D2 Baby Quilt

Here’s a few pictures of the process. Basically I printed up a bunch of pictures and winged it from there.

R2D2 Progress

It’s been a long time since I made something up from scratch, and it was a bit of a struggle. Apparently my version of ‘pregnancy brain’ is a complete inability to properly use fractions. Lots of ripping out, lots of re-cutting… but worth it in the end!

R2D2 Progress

I love this picture: inspiration in the upper right, and carnage in the lower right.R2D2 Progress

Off to work on the next nursery project! I have a feeling that this is going to be a lot of fun…

21 thoughts on “This is not the quilt you’re looking for

  1. Cathy says:

    I love it! You are just so creative – I can’t wait to see pics of the finished nursery. That is one lucky little boy you are waiting for.

  2. Beth says:

    I saw it on Pinterest too and had to stop by and tell you how much I love this – absolutely amazing! As a Star Wars fanatic, I think your nursery theme is perfect 🙂

  3. Malorie says:

    Saw this on Pinterest, too and I’m obsessed!! If you made a pattern for this, I guarantee it would go like crazy on etsy! (I would be the first one to snatch it up!) I know you would sure make me one happy geek!

  4. Regina says:

    Just got asked to do a Star Wars quilt on commission – yours is going in my “inspirations” folder as I narrow down the possibilities.

  5. Barb Moretti says:

    I have a son that has loved stars wars since it first came out. I wish I had seen this before I bought the kit to make him a star wars quilt for xmas. you have given me alot to think about in developing my own pattern. Thanks for sharing this, it’s out of this world.

Leave a comment