Under the Sea

I found out recently that the hospital where baby boy will be making his debut offers photography on site to capture a few quality photos before we head home. Usually I’m a huge shutterbug, but it’s a big relief to know that I won’t have to stress about getting a really great photo while we’re there.

The photography service recommends bringing a special blanket of some kind for the photo shoot. I realized that I’d need to throw something together if I didn’t want to bring the R2D2 quilt to the hospital with us. Luckily I had a charm pack, a little bit of backing yardage, solid white and a large enough scrap of batting on hand. I used them to put together this little car seat quilt in a weekend. It’s a great size for a newborn, and will be useful later to tie on to his seat to ward off the winter chill.

Carrier Quilt

Pattern: Sophie Car Seat Quilt (free from the Moda Bake Shop)

Fabric: Moda’s ‘Odyssea’

Carrier Quilt

Along with his first hat, I think it will make for some great pictures.

There is a little embroidered label on the back, but it’s personalized so I won’t share it quite yet. We’re keeping his name under wraps until delivery day!

Carrier Quilt

In other news, the Lizzy House fabric that I had picked out for curtains has had its release date pushed back to January… necessitating a plan B. I searched high and low and finally settled on this molecule print from spoonflower. Not cheap, but I actually like it better than the print I had originally set my heart on.

Curtain Fabric

I’ll be making a roman shade for the nursery’s one window, as well as full length curtains to replace the metal doors on the closet. It will be great to have this last item ticked off of the list for the baby’s room! Can’t wait to share some pictures of the finished nursery.

Leave a comment